A Different Kind of Busy…

When the kids were younger, I remember asking my older sister if it ever gets not soo busy – at this time my kids were 7 and 3, and they still needed alot of help from Mom – someone to bath them, someone to clothe them, someone to feed them and brush their teeth and hair.

And my sister told me that it’s still busy as they get older – just a different kind of busy.  I wasn’t quite sure what she meant at the time, but fast forward 6 years and I am starting to understand what she meant!

Now, there’s 3 children in our busy lives – 12, 8, and 3 years old. The older ones bath and shower themselves, and get their own plates of food – But we have to be at one club one night, one class the next night, one activity the next day, and so on and so on – Now, I find I am running from here to there, and back again, making sure everyone is where they need to be at the time they need to be there – it is busy, just a different kind of busy.

And I’m thankful for those in-between moments, where my son or daughter and I get to spend a few minutes alone driving from one activity to the next – those stolen moments of secret talks of what’s happening with their friends or how they set a goal for themselves in gymnastics and they share with you how excited they were when they achieved it – those moments are priceless, and even though we’re running here and there and everywhere – this different kind of busy, is definitely worth the effort.

2 thoughts on “A Different Kind of Busy…

Leave a Reply

